What I Watched This Week – 1/8-1/14

Title image for Vinland Saga. A number of characters, including both a young and slightly older version of the main character are arranged against a backdrop of snow splattered with blood.

Vinland Saga S1 – Given that I love anime like Kingdom and LoGH, and play games like Civilization and Crusader Kings, by all rights I should have watched this already, but the fans were so insufferably aggressive about this show back when it was airing, that I didn’t want to watch it until now. And it’s a shame, too, because it was absolutely my kind of party. I did, admittedly, find Thorfinn a challenging protagonist to root for, as I can understand how he got that way and that this is only the beginning of his character arc, but still not enjoy watching a kid make the wrong decision at every point. Other than mister angry teen, however, there was a full cast of interesting characters with complex personalities that prevented easy sorting into villain or hero boxes all locked in a complicated struggle for power. Although the sequel season is currently airing, I think I’m gonna wait and marathon it later. 8/10

Title image for Obey Me! Season 2. Seven young demon men in street clothes hug in a line.

Obey Me! S2 – This is a series of five-minute shorts, so there isn’t a whole lot to comment on. If you liked the first season, you’ll like this one, as it delivers around the same amount of solid jokes and amusing nonsense. There are worse ways to spend an hour than watching these idiot demon brothers goof around. 7/10

Title image for Gintama. Floating above the earth are various characters from the show. In the center is the main character, wearing flowing white and blue kimono and holding a wooden sword.

Gintama’ Ep.26-51 – If you’re going by Crunchyroll’s episode numbers, this is 227 through 252, I believe. These were pretty much all two-episode comedy arcs, with one or two slightly longer comedy arcs, and one longer serious arc. I got a good chuckle out of the dating sim episodes, the host club arc gave me some peak Sougo moments, the shogun abuse in the vacation arc is still funny for some reason, and the scandal arc was delightfully trashy. The Star Wars/Gundam parody Renho arc laid me tf out when I ever heard the voices of Char and Amuro come out of those characters’ mouths. Meanwhile, the serious Thorny arc was supposed to be about Hijikata, but, again, I got another hit of that sweet, sweet Sougo swagger. He is the show’s best boy, and it’s not even close. 8/10